Details About Your Trip
Choose Dates
Please wait while we get your quote...
{{ quote.error }}
Rate per night
{{quote.avgRate | currency:"$"}}
Taxes + fees per nighti
{{quote.avgFeeAndTaxes | currency:"$"}}
Total*
{{quote.amountTotal | currency:"$"}}
Amount due today
{{quote.amountDueToday | currency:"$"}}
* with {{couponApplied}} applied
BOOK THIS PROPERTY
Free cancellation before {{ quote.cancelDate | date:'shortDate' }}
APPLYCANCEL
The code {{couponError}} is invalid.
Questions? Contact us
Text us (512) 829-3039
Or call (888) 512-0498
Kempner Park Carriage House: Charmer Near Beach & Pier
#{{ property.vrboId }}

{{ selectedPhoto.Description }}

Kempner Park Carriage House: Charmer Near Beach & Pier
73 reviews
Galveston, Texas
The Property
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
1
Sleeps
3 people
Type
Cottage
Pets
No Pets
Sq. footage
560 sq. ft.
Beds
1 King, 1 Twin
Check in / out
Check in
Anytime after 3pm
Check out
10am
Description
Kempner Park Carriage House: Charmer Near Beach & Pier
Every Stay Includes
Complimentary Wi-Fi
Secure keyless entry
Professional cleaning
24/7 local support
Hotel-grade linens
Starter set of toiletries
Local recommendations
Amenities
KITCHEN
Full kitchen, Refrigerator, Coffee maker, Microwave, Toaster, Cookware, Cooking utensils, Pots / pans, Dishwasher, Glassware, Stove / oven, Silverware, Tea kettle
ENTERTAINMENT
Television, Games, Wireless internet, Books, Netflix, Roku
ATTRACTIONS
Playground
SUITABILITY
Children welcome
LIVING
Central air, Air conditioning, Linens, Ironing board, High speed internet, Fireplace, Iron, Hair dryer, Games, Novels
BUSINESS
Nearby ATM, Nearby post office, Nearby internet cafe, Nearby FedEx, Nearby bank
CONVENIENCE
Area fitness center, Nearby medical services, Nearby grocery, Movie theatres, Golf course
CULTURE
Museums, Recreation center, Moody gardens amusement park
OUTDOOR
Beach toys, Beach umbrella, Private entrance
GEOGRAPHIC
Near beach, Close to town, Near public transportation
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 09/14/2018 by Brittany H
Sweet little cottage in a great location
The property is the perfect size for a couple with a small child. Just enough room for everyone to have their own space during down time. The Strand is a quick drive, as is the children's museum. The beach is just a few blocks away, making it perfect for a morning swim. The management was great! The bed was broken when we got there and they took care of it as soon as they could the next day. Everything is exactly as you see it in the photographs, and very clean. If we come back to Galveston, we'll be renting the Carriage House again. Check out Shrimp 'n Stuff, a 5 minute drive, for some laid back tasty seafood!
On 09/12/2018 by Undisclosed
Response on 9/13/2018
Hello Danielle, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and share your experience! We’re so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. You were perfect guests, and we look forward to next time! -The TurnKey VR Team
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 09/06/2018 by Danielle L
Housekeeping Review - Very Good
On 09/03/2018 by Jeremy M
Unexpected Delight
We wanted to stay at the Hotel Galvez because of the history of the hotel, but it is out of what we are willing to spend.
The Kempner Carriage was a great alternative which showcased homes built in Galveston in the 1800s. To those who like more space and attention to detail, you will not be disappointed. Eye phone connections, a tablet, soaps provided by each sink, cards for shopping (Krogers, Drugstores)and wifi were some examples of the detail not to mention more space in the rooms.
If we should go to Galveston again, I will stay here.
On 09/03/2018 by Susan V.
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 09/01/2018 by Carey E
Pull The Curtains
We stayed at the Kempner Carriage House for a 2 day romantic getaway. While it is unique and charming, there were a couple downsides that will prevent us from returning. The bathroom door is a full panel glass door on a slider, which opens to the bedroom and is visible from the living area, meaning - people in the bedroom and living room can clearly see you using the facilities. We worked around this, but a a simple curtain over the glass bathroom door would be helpful. Similarly, the windows in the living room only have narrow decorative pieces dangling in the center of them, which leaves no option for complete privacy, since there are next door neighbors in close proximity. The kitchen windows have the same problem and lack of privacy. An easy fix would be a curtain or blind that can be pulled open or closed as needed. We enjoyed the LED fireplace, and the close walking proximity to the beach (neighborhood felt a bit sketchy for nighttime walking, so we only made that trip in the daytime). We loved sitting out on the little front porch (we brought chairs) and watching the happenings of the street. So, if privacy is not your thing and you like something a bit different and with some history, this may be the place for you.
On 08/29/2018 by Undisclosed
Housekeeping Review - Very Good
On 08/26/2018 by Brian B
Housekeeping Review - Very Good
On 08/18/2018 by Jackie H
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 08/17/2018 by Susan V
Kempner Park Stay
The house is adorable and spotless. You can tell the owners have put a lot of thought and effort into the property. I did,however, have a couple issues. Parking is not easy. There was one spot available for our small car, but we were asked to move by the neighbor. We had to move our vehicle to across the street which I was uneasy doing given the neighborhood is a little sketchy. The bed is, in my opinion, VERY uncomfortable. The bed sinks down in the middle and while you can call to have the topper removed I didn’t want to deal with the hassle of doing that so I just toughed it out. Lastly, the neighborhood was sketchy at best, but that seems to be all of Galveston so you can’t teally hold that against them. Overall our stay was enjoyable I would just recommend the owners invest in a bed upgrade.
On 07/28/2018 by Undisclosed
Response on 8/29/2018
Hi Amanda, Thank you so much for your review and helpful feedback! We’re so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. Please let us assure you that we will pass along your feedback to the team and owner specifically about the bed. Next time you stay with us, remember our 24/7 guest hotline is always available to call with any issues that may come up. We want to make sure you’re as comfortable as you can be during your stay. We can’t wait to have you stay with us again! -The TurnKey VR Team
Housekeeping Review - Very Good
On 07/26/2018 by David D
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 07/22/2018 by Amanda B
2nd stay
This is the 2nd time staying at the cottage. We absolutely love it & will be back again!
On 07/19/2018 by Stephanie L.
Housekeeping Review - Very Good
On 07/18/2018 by Daniel S
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 07/14/2018 by Hoa O
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 07/13/2018 by Justin B
Cozy little gem
This was a beautiful little home, truly enjoyed my stay here. The bed, linens and pillows were all very comfy. Would def recommend to a friend/stay again.
On 07/01/2018 by Lauren W.
Response on 8/28/2018
Thank you so much for your review and kind words about our property! We’re so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. You were perfect guests, and we look forward to next time! -The TurnKey VR Team
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 06/15/2018 by Kellie F
Great place to stay!
Overall the Carriage House was perfect for our stay. The owners clearly placed a lot of effort into the remodel (2017). The snacks, beach toys, lotions and soaps were appreciated. The house was clean, and stocked with kitchen items if you choose to cook your meals. The Turnkey management team kept us updated as we were able to receive an early check in and late check out, they also expeditiously answered any questions. As for the location of the property.... It is Galveston, so this cute little home is wedged in among many other types of homes and is a few block walk to the both public beach and the historical strand, so if you have children, elderly or arrive when the weather is warmer you may want to consider these factors. A recommendation was made earlier about perhaps having a couple of bikes I would add bikes and a cart for hauling items. I am not sure if this is possible as the cottage is without a lot of available storage. For those concerned about sleeping comfort, the king sized bed has a soft topper that the management will remove upon request for a firmer mattress. (New) the third foam twin mattress is under the king bed and needs to be pulled out and moved into the living room which worked out fine for us as they were all comfortable and sleeping by the glow of the picture fireplace was nice. Again, this carriage house is very nice and has been updated in an “industrial rustic” decor that is very welcoming.
On 06/13/2018 by Undisclosed
Response on 6/15/2018
Hi Heather, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and share your experience! We’re so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. You were perfect guests, and we look forward to next time! -The TurnKey VR Team
Loved this cute little carriage house!
We had such a great time in Galveston, and we're so happy we stayed at this carriage house. It was in the perfect location - close to the beach for me and close to the back canal/bay for my fisherman fiance. We would stay here again if we ever made the trip back to the island!
On 06/01/2018 by Brielle H.
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 05/29/2018 by Jessica C
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 05/28/2018 by Parrish S
Housekeeping Review - Very Good
On 05/23/2018 by Brian H
Loved!
This was such a cute little cottage! Great location- close to the harbor/back bays for my fisherman fiance, and close to the beach for me. All different kinds of restaurants and stores are nearby as well. I appreciated the fact that there were beach supplies available to use. We loved Galveston and this was a wonderful place to stay during our trip!
On 05/16/2018 by Undisclosed
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 04/29/2018 by Elisabet R
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 04/12/2018 by Lacey Q
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 03/23/2018 by Ivana L
A beautiful historic home just a half mile walk to the seawall
We had a wonderful spring break beach vacation and fell in love with this house. I had a chance to talk to both neighbors and learned so much about the history of the home. If I could move here I would in a heart beat. My family loved the complimentary breakfast and snack basket and the beach toys were an absolute hit. We had so much fun walking around the neighborhood and loved the architecture of all of the homes nearby. My only complaint would be the distance to the seawall as it gets to be tiresome after a few trips back and forth throughout the day. I think it would be a great addition to include a few bikes or maybe a golf cart to help with the trips to and from the beach. We decided to extend our stay by checking in one day earlier and the process was a breeze. We also made a last minute decision to extend our stay another day less than 2 hrs before checkout. This process was a little more complicated since wet booked through airbnb and their system had not been updated to the 12 pm checkout instead of the 10 am checkout we originally had been given. Luckily with a few calls back and forth between airbnb and the rental company we were able to book the home another day without having to pay another cleaning fee. We had an issue with the cleaning crew who prepared the home for us but we were so busy that I didn't get a chance to notify the rental company until the day we called to get the extension. I was very impressed with the prompt attention and overall professionalism of the local management team. I will definitely stay at any turnkey rental home in the future. This home is perfect for 2 adults, 1 child, and a baby but the lack of closet space makes it a little difficult with so many people. Other than those few issues I have nothing but great things to say about this home and would recommend to anyone. I hope to stay there again with just my husband and I in the near future.
On 03/21/2018 by Amber D.
Response on 3/24/2018
Hi Amber, Thank you for the compliments, and we love hearing how much you enjoyed your stay with us! Please know that we’ve followed up with our Housekeeping Team to address your cleanliness concerns and ensure these problems do not reoccur moving forward. By the way, you were perfect guests, and we appreciate you taking care of our place as if it were your own. Please come stay again any time! -The TurnKey VR Team
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 03/03/2018 by Presley P
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 03/02/2018 by Sara J
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 02/11/2018 by Randy J
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 01/10/2018 by Jonathan R
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 01/05/2018 by Maranda C
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 12/28/2017 by Kenneth Blair S
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 12/25/2017 by Chris D
The Perfect Rental for a Romantic Weekend Getaway
Picked this cottage for our 18th wedding anniversary and my 40th birthday getaway! Chose this place over so many because of the age of the property and the cozy look. We arrived after dark but the cottage was easy to find and we had parking right out front. We put on our code and walked in to a freezing but beautiful place! We turned the heating unit on right away and within a few hours it was comfortable. By the morning it was nice and toasty. Everything you could ever need for a getaway was there and it was so comfy. The couch is perfect for morning sitting with coffee or lounging watching a movie. The bed was really cozy and comfy. The pillow topper is just like ours here at home! We loved every second and will definitely visit again.
On 12/19/2017 by Leigh H.
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 12/17/2017 by Angela R
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 12/15/2017 by Leigh Ann H
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 11/25/2017 by Christopher S
Cozy cottage
Our stay was amazing. We stayed there for our honeymoon and it was great. The cottage was exactly as advertised! It was very clean and had everything that we needed except for an iron. There was a steamer but an iron would have been better. The owners thought of everything! They had breakfast treats, games of all sorts, plenty of tv options and many more comforts of home! We wanted to do more while we were there but it was pretty cold. We strolled the strand one night and spent the next day at Moody Gardens. It was an amazing trip! We discussed future trips to the cottage and would highly recommend it to a friend.
On 11/23/2017 by Undisclosed
Response on 11/25/2017
Laura, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and share your experience. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. You were perfect guests, and we look forward to next time! -The TurnKey VR Team
Rustic Perfection
Very clean, loved the decor. Felt relaxed & at home!!
On 11/21/2017 by Stephanie L.
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 11/20/2017 by Stephanie L
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 11/20/2017 by Laura E
Housekeeping Review - Good
On 10/09/2017 by Gerald P
Lovely cottage
The cottage was very beautiful and the location was great. The place was very clean and tidy. Absolutely loved it except for the bed, it sinks in the middle worse than any bed I've ever slept on. Replace that and the cottage would be perfect. The booking service, HomeAway, asked "security questions" about phone numbers and addresses from 15+ years ago. A good memory is apparently required to make a reservation...
On 10/05/2017 by Undisclosed
Response on 10/6/2017
Hi Joseph, Thank you so much for the review and helpful feedback! We are so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. Please let us assure you that we will check on the condition of the mattress and recommend to the homeowner that they replace it, if needed. Also, our 24/7 guest hotline is always available to call with any issues that may come up, so please let us know next time if you need anything. With regards to the security questions you were asked, these are created by pulling information that is available from public records. These are similar questions to what you would receive on a fraud alert or anything else trying to verify your identity. By the way, you were perfect guests, and we look forward to having you stay again! -The TurnKey VR Team
Perfect cottage getaway
We loved our stay here. It was decorated so tastefully and the location was just perfect!! In walking distance of the beach and many great restaurants. Will definitely stay again!!!
On 10/05/2017 by Undisclosed
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 09/30/2017 by Melenia F
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 09/16/2017 by Joseph P
Lovely 1 BR near the beach
Came down here for work for a week, the condo was in a great location close to the beach and restaurants, well furnished with a big comfy king bed.
On 09/16/2017 by Jake S.
Housekeeping Review - Good
On 08/21/2017 by Julia C
Very cute with tons of charm.
This house was everything that it advertised and we really enjoyed our stay.
On 08/21/2017 by Undisclosed
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 08/18/2017 by Joanne K
Cute Beachy Cottage
Very nicely decorated and very clean. Perfect for a couple.
On 08/14/2017 by Undisclosed
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 08/09/2017 by Zachary K
Housekeeping Review - Very Good
On 08/04/2017 by Danielle D
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 07/28/2017 by Laura A
Disappointed
Upon arrival it was just as it was seen in pictures. A welcoming jar of snacks, coffee available, sugar, creamer it was great! Please don't get me wrong the house was adorable, the location was super however just the small things that were not as first seen in the description. There are tv's however please be sure to have your own sign on information so that you may watch Hulu, Netflix, Amazon or Sling. Also it seems there is a screen on back window in bedroom, outside, that was continually banging on the window that woke us up constantly. Our stay was very pleasant and enjoyable. Access to everything was great and would recommend to anyone to stay. The small electric fireplace was adorable and great for evenings!
On 07/26/2017 by Undisclosed
Response on 7/27/2017
Hi Maria, Thank you so much for the review and helpful feedback! We are so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. Please let us assure you that we will check on the screen for the back window in the bedroom and make sure it is secure. Also, our 24/7 guest hotline is always available to call with any issues that may come up, so please let us know next time if you need anything. By the way, you were perfect guests, and we look forward to having you stay again! -The TurnKey VR Team
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 07/24/2017 by Pam C
Housekeeping Review - Very Good
On 07/21/2017 by Maria M
Absolutely Adorable!!!
This was a girls getaway for me and my daughter. I let her pick from several places on the VRBO site (Most were much more expensive and right across from the beach) but she chose this one & that was fine with me because I thought it was so cute. We were both super excited to see if it looked like the pictures and it did! From the moment we drove up to the outside we knew we were going to love it and then as we went through the house we fell more in love and knew we had picked the right place to stay. There was so much thought and detail in every single thing and we truly felt like we were in a little cottage- Everything was fresh and very clean! They also provided coffee/tea/sugar/creamer and a few little snacks for us, which was super nice. I loved the little remote fireplace and would turn it on without the heat and enjoy my coffee beside it on the huge comfy couch in the morning or a glass of wine at night. If I had (1) complaint it would be that we stayed for 4 nights and they only provided (1) bath towel & (1) wash cloth for each of us. It would have been a little nice to have at least another set for each. Other than that EVERYTHING was perfect! We did meet (1) set of neighbors and they were super nice which made us feel even better about the place. It was in a great location... just a few blocks from the beach, restaurants and lots of other fun stuff were close by. If I ever go back to Galveston, I will try to plan my dates to stay here again.
On 07/18/2017 by Undisclosed
Absolutely Adorable!
This was a girls getaway for me and my 19 year old daughter. I let her pick from several places on the VRBO site (Most were much more expensive and right across from the beach) but she chose this one & that was fine with me because I thought it was so cute. We were both super excited to see if it looked like the pictures and it did! From the moment we drove up to the outside we knew we were going to love it and then as we went through the house we fell more in love and knew we had picked the right place to stay. There was so much thought and detail in every single thing and we truly felt like we were in a little cottage- Everything was fresh and very clean! They also provided coffee/tea/sugar/creamer and a few little snacks for us, which was super nice. I loved the little remote fireplace and would turn it on without the heat and enjoy my coffee beside it on the huge comfy couch in the morning or a glass of wine at night. If I had (1) complaint it would be that we stayed for 4 nights and they only provided (1) bath towel & (1) wash cloth for each of us. It would have been a little nice to have at least another set for each. Other than that EVERYTHING was perfect! We did meet (1) set of neighbors and they were super nice which made us feel even better about the place. It was in a great location... just a few blocks from the beach, restaurants and lots of other fun stuff were close by. If I ever go back to Galveston, I will try to plan my dates to stay here again.
On 07/17/2017 by Undisclosed
Response on 7/17/2017
Hello London, Thank you so much for the review and kind words about our property! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. You were perfect guests, and we look forward to next time! -The TurnKey VR Team
Super Cute!
Overall, we loved this rental and it's location. The house is decorated really cute, and has more things provided than we expected - like umbrellas, beach chairs and toys, cooking and cleaning utensils. The home is located just a few blocks from the beach and is an easy walk to the beach, shops, and restaurants along Seawall Blvd.

We did have trouble connecting to the secure Wi-Fi. There was an unsecure connection that we could connect to fine, but never could connect to the secure one even with the instructions. The Roku works but unless you already have accounts, it doesn't do you much good. We have Netflix, but when it came time to leave, we couldn't remove our account information without resetting the whole thing. We also couldn't get the tablet to work. It wouldn't charge.

Two packages were delivered from Amazon, and we weren't sure what to do with them so they were left by the door when we left.

This is a cute and comfortable home and we would definitely stay here again on future trips to Galveston. This was our second time using a VRBO and it was different having the property managed by a company versus the personal touch of dealing directly with the owner.
On 07/07/2017 by Teresa B.
Response on 7/7/2017
Teresa, Thank you so much for the review and helpful feedback! We are so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. Please let us assure you that we will follow up to ensure that the WiFi and Tablet issues are resolved. Also, our 24/7 guest hotline is always available to call with any issues that may come up, so please let us know next time if you need anything. By the way, you were perfect guests, and we look forward to having you stay again! -The TurnKey VR Team
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 06/24/2017 by Teresa B
Cute little place!
A cute little apartment! The kitchen is small but has everything you need for a vacation. The owners provide not just dishes, but trail mix bars, games, beach towels, beach toys, local magazines and info on attractions, and a beach-cart to pull it all. The living room is huge with a very comfy couch. The bedroom has its own A/C and the bed is enormous. The bathroom is right out of Pinterest, in a good way. =) We met both next-door neighbors in passing and they were quite pleasant. Parking is on-street but not hard to find. It's very close to the Gulf side of the island, in a good area. If I were coming back to Galveston, I would definitely stay here again.
On 06/22/2017 by Undisclosed
Response on 6/23/2017
Kerry, Thank you for the compliments, we love to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us! You were perfect guests, and we appreciate you taking care of our place as if it were your own. Please come stay again anytime! -The TurnKey VR Team
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 06/19/2017 by April M
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 06/13/2017 by Ellen G
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 06/07/2017 by Kerry M
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 06/02/2017 by Mayra R
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 05/18/2017 by Ashley M
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 05/12/2017 by Chris D
Romantic Getaway
My husband and I were looking for a romantic little getaway and this fit the bill perfectly. Charming cottage with lots of character, built over a century ago. Completely refurbished with lots of attention to detail and upscale touches, it combined the rustic with the clean and comfortable feel. The bed is a 'holy cow' moment and I slept like a baby. The location is also pretty central with a good walkability factor and the whole experience felt snug and restful. Definitely recommend!
On 05/12/2017 by Undisclosed
Adorable renovated home in a great location!
We spent spring break in Galveston and stayed in this adorable place. This shotgun house is over 100 years old but has been remodeled recently and has all of the amenities you would need. We loved the decor! The king size bed and pillows are so comfortable, I ran out and bought the same pillows for my bed at home. The kitchen is fully equipped and the bathroom has all that one would need on vacation. The owner also has beach supplies available for guests to use along with a wagon to take with you if you decide to walk to the beach. The TV's in the bedroom and living room are smart T.V.'s and we were able to login to all of our netflix, amazon prime and television apps that we usually watch at home. We felt right at home. The location is perfect! It's very close to the beach and within walking distance from Pleasure Pier. It's also very close to the strand and some of the museums on Broadway. We had a great trip and would definitely stay here again.
On 05/12/2017 by Undisclosed