Shabby unit, but great venue for families
Worst part first: my wife started crying once she saw the inside of the unit; it was cramped and cheaply decorated, the bathroom was really grubby, and there was a huge dead roach on the floor. The overall impression was of a shabby motel room.
On the bright side, once you leave the unit, the communal areas are very nice, the general location is great (easy walk to a fabulous beach!), and you probably don't go to a beach to spend a lot of time indoors, anyway! We had a great time barbecuing, swimming, and playing basketball on the well-maintained grounds, and beach access was quick and fun via the wooden walkways over the dunes.
The beds were very comfortable (even the sofa bed -- it had a huge memory-foam topper that made it difficult to fold up, but that was worth it, as it was vastly more pleasant than any other sofa bed ever!), the appliances worked (though the stove is a bit off-kilter), and generally we enjoyed our visit.
The photos were mostly accurate, except that the kitchenette is much more cramped than it appears in the photos, and the bathroom was quite nasty with mold and water damage not visible in the particular angle shown in the photo.
The promised "ocean views from our front door" and the aerial photo of the complex (https://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207993) were quite misleading -- this unit does *not* face the beach, unlike those units -- it has no views at all, facing directly onto other nearby units instead. It's true that one can see a tiny patch of water off in the distance from the balcony on the way to the stairs down from the unit, but there is *no* ocean view (or any other) from this particular unit. A "romantic retreat" this is not.
So, overall, we had a great time in Port Aransas, had no issues with checking in or out, had no internet issues (we updated the out-of-date internet access instructions left inside; there should be no problem with them now) and would definitely return to this family-friendly complex. We would try to find a better-maintained unit next time, but if this were all that was available in the Island Retreat complex, we would do it, just to get a chance to be at this location.
reviewed on 03/18/2016 by Undisclosed
response on 4/10/2016:
Hi James, thank you so much for taking the time to write us. We really apologize that you weren't completely satisfied and we want you to know that we are making updates, in part due to your suggestions. Thank you! We're glad you enjoyed your stay in Port A and we hope to hear from you again soon! -The TurnKey VR Team
Pretty nice but WiFi did not work
The only downside to this rental was that the WiFi did not work.
The instructions said that once I was connected to the WiFi network then I would be prompted for a username and password in the web browser. This did not happen. Instead, when I clicked on the network to connect I was automatically asked for a password. There was no initial connection to the network in order to get to the browser page in order to type in the username and password.
reviewed on 10/11/2015 by Stephen A.
response on 10/15/2015:
Hi Stephen, we're so sorry about the internet problem. Guests can call us 24 hours a day with any problem that may arise. You were great guests and we hope to hear from you again soon! -The TurnKey VR Team
Excellent Vacation for a Family on a Budget!!
The condo we stayed in, unit 12, was identical to the pictures shown online. It was lovely. Everything required to sleep and feed a family of 4 was provided. I was surprised to pots, pans, silverware, cooking utensils, pot holders, dishwashing liquid, laundry detergent, towels, paper towels, linens, dish towels, and I'm certain lots of other things I can't immediately remember - as well as fantastic customer service. The property was gorgeous - the pools, and multiple lighted grill areas were immaculate. Someone else mentioned the long walk to the beach... Honestly? It's across the parking lot, over the boardwalk, then the sand and ocean. It's a bit of a walk (maybe 2 or 3 city blocks) but my family and I enjoyed every step. Even my teenagers had no complaints. There are no words for how wonderful it was to be able to wake up and take a thermos of coffee to the beach and watch the sun rise/set - it was majestic. I am not a professional photographer, but almost every picture I have of the beach and ocean looks like a post card. If I had to complain about anything? It would be the lack of comfort on the sofa bed, but that didn't exactly come as a shock. In short, my family needed an inexpensive place to stay (roof and bed) and found so much more. The stocked kitchen allowed me to buy actual groceries and cook dinner, so we saved money there too, AND we set down to dinner at the table. My family had the opportunity to pull together and we had the time of our lives. My children, as I mentioned, are teens, so with all the options on the property (pools, basketball, tennis, etc.), my husband and I even managed an hour or two alone everyday. We will definitely be back next year!!
reviewed on 09/21/2015 by Tamara H.
response on 9/27/2015:
Hi Tamara, thanks for the kind words! We look forward to hearing from you next year! -The TurnKey VR Team
Nice rental, a bit dated, but the location is nice and the pool and other facilities are nice. The bed and fold out sofa need to be replaced, but were not horrible. The Turn Key experience overall was wonderful!
reviewed on 09/04/2015 by Carl K.
response on 9/8/2015:
Hi Carl, thank you for the kind words and helpful feedback. You were perfect guests and we look forward to looking for to hearing from you again soon! -The TurnKey VR Team
This unit needs some cleaning. The linens were very stained. The sofa sleeper did not work and there were sheets left over on it that were very stained, scared to even use the bed. The couch and bed lumpy - needs updating. Towels and hand towels were stained/or dirty. The carpet was not cleaned or vacuumed. The hot water worked great. The Stove and oven worked. The shower fixtures need updated as they are falling apart. We enjoyed the pool and enjoyed our time there. Just wished we felt clean in our lodging. When we come back we would not want to stay in unit 12.
reviewed on 07/23/2015 by Undisclosed
PORT A REVIEW
Overall, the unit was okay and met our needs. The floor still had some coins in the bathroom, so I’m not really sure how well it was swept.
-For this specific unit, some improvement suggestions:
-Please replace or clean the bathroom rug as it smells like urine
-Dump some Drano/or snake the drain in the tub to help drain the tub more efficiently.
-Caulk around the tub, seeing old moldy caulk is not a good impression(30 minute fix)
-The vacuum in this unit is worthless. We cleaned out the filter as best we could and it still has a hard time picking up anything on the rug. Yes,we had the setting to clean carpet.
-Mattress in the couch is great if you like springs in the back. Is it possible to update?
reviewed on 07/20/2015 by Ben S.
response on 8/3/2015:
Thank you for staying with us and we do appreciate the feedback you provided. We do apologize for any housekeeping issues that you experienced. Just to follow up, the bathroom rug has been replaced, the drains cleared, the bathroom is re-caulked and the vacuum cleaner has been replaced. We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know and hope to hear from you again. -The TurnKey VR Team
Great Beach Access
property was outdated and noticed staines on the comforter and chair cushions. I also think having some house cleaner (409, windex, etc.) would have been nice since we do not have maid services. Loved the beach access. AC worked great! fridge and microwave were very clean!
reviewed on 06/25/2015 by Natalie F.
response on 7/9/2015:
Thank you for the feedback and for staying with us. We will definitely removed any stained sheets and cushions. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the beach location and that everything was in working order for you. All the best and thank you again ~ TurnKey VR
Upon arrival the unit was clean and orderly except for a few minor things. It was located near the beach but no beach access which was known. Port A has a lot of things to do; we enjoyed the area immensely. The unit was advertised as a “1-bedroom property “ when in reality it was an “efficiency property” with the second room being a bathtub and toilet. We found the unit cramped for 2 people with a week’s worth of luggage and food. A metal pipe was suspended over the water heater as a closet area but no hangars were provided.
reviewed on 06/16/2015 by Ronnie .
It was about an 8 minute walk to get to the beach. This was a second floor condo/apartment. It was all one room. It was a bit dated but worked for us. The internet was quite finicky and had to keep rebooting our devices. It was fairly clean, not awesome but not bad. The Turnkey company is on top of it as far as keeping in touch. I would come here again if the price was right. It would be good for a family of 4 to rent but would be cramped with four adults.
reviewed on 04/08/2015 by Liz A.
response on 4/19/2015:
Thank you so much for your review. I'm glad you would come back to our home, and I hope that we made the experience enjoyable for you. The internet is a little spotty down there, it's hard to get good service on the island sometimes. I hope overall your stay was good and that we can host you again!
The Turnkey Team
Chill Out in Port A
Quiet cozy condo within easy walking distance to a great beach.
reviewed on 12/02/2014 by Undisclosed
response on 12/15/2014:
Thank you for taking the time to leave is a review and of course for staying with us. We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us in our vacation condo. We always found the location to the beach one of best features.
All the best and we hope we can welcome you back in the future.
TurnKey Vacation Rentals
It's similar in size to a small hotel room. All the appliances were working, if a little old. The room was clean. The sofa bed was horrible to sleep on. It looked like the mattress was 4 inches thick and fairly worn, so it wasn't much better than sleeping directly on the springs. I would recommend bringing a pretty thick mattress topper. Still hard to beat for the price.
reviewed on 12/01/2014 by Edward F.
response on 12/14/2014:
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and of course for staying with us. We do appreciate your comments and feedback, especially regarding the sofa bed. We will certainly look at adding some further cushioning to make it more comfortable for our guests. Your feedback does help us to hopefully increase the satisfaction of future guests stay.
All the best - TurnKey Vacation Rentals
Great location, great price
We really enjoyed this cosy condo for two near the beach. We took long walks on the beach, drove to the Padre National Seashore, and also to town in Port Aranasas a few times. This was our first visit to the area and this location was perfect for exploring.
The condo is small, old, and dated, but very comfortable for two. Attractively decorated. Priced right. Near the beach. Just what we wanted.
reviewed on 10/25/2014 by Kc S.
response on 11/4/2014:
Thank you for your review and comments. We are happy to hear you were able to explore the area for your first time and you enjoyed the condo and location.
We hope to see you back on your second trip to Port A!
Nice condo by the beach
First of all TurnKey Vacation Rentals made the reservation easy and communication was excellent. We received immediate feedback on questions and general information. Having the keyless door lock was a great convenience. With short walk to the beach and the property is nicely maintained. The condo has everything we need including a kitchen where we made some delicious local bought seafood. The only gripe we have is no dishwasher. Then again if you do not plan to cook this would not be a problem.
reviewed on 10/07/2014 by Paul W.
reviewed on 09/24/2014 by Adam R.
reviewed on 09/24/2014 by Adam R.