Details About Your Trip
Choose Dates
Please wait while we get your quote...
{{ quote.error }}
Rate per night
{{quote.avgRate | currency:"$"}}
Taxes + fees per nighti
{{quote.avgFeeAndTaxes | currency:"$"}}
{{quote.amountTotal | currency:"$"}}
Amount due today
{{quote.amountDueToday | currency:"$"}}
* with {{couponApplied}} applied
Free cancellation before {{ quote.cancelDate | date:'shortDate' }}
The code {{couponError}} is invalid.
Questions? Contact us
Text us (512) 829-3039
Or call (888) 512-0498
Penthouse Ocean View Bungalow
#{{ property.vrboId }}

{{ selectedPhoto.Description }}

Penthouse Ocean View Bungalow
84 reviews
Summerland, California
The Property
2 people
No Pets
Sq. footage
500 sq. ft.
1 King
Check in / out
Check in
Anytime after 3pm
Check out
Boutique 1BR Bungalow w/ 180-Degree Ocean Views – 5 Minutes to Beach
Every Stay Includes
Complimentary Wi-Fi
Secure keyless entry
Professional cleaning
24/7 local support
Hotel-grade linens
Starter set of toiletries
Local recommendations
Gas grill, Beach, Bicycles
Nearby ATM, Nearby post office, Nearby internet cafe, Nearby FedEx, Nearby bank
Full kitchen, Refrigerator, Coffee maker, Microwave, Cookware, Cooking utensils, Pots / pans, Dishwasher, Glassware, Stove / oven, Silverware, Tea kettle, Gas burner
Central air, Air conditioning, Ceiling fans, Linens, Washer & dryer, Ironing board, High speed internet, Iron, Cable
Nearby medical services, Nearby grocery, Outlet shopping, Movie theatres, Golf course
Caves, Live theater, Zoo, Museums, Winery
Cable tv, Stereo system, Games, Wireless internet, Books
On beach, Near beach
Humming Bird - Sky review
We loved our little apartment in the sky. It was the ideal spot to stay while visiting family in Summerland. The unit was very clean and the local rep was very quick to respond when we noticed we needed more towels and a bath mat. Overall we loved it so much we are making it an annual trip. The only negative was that it listed a BBQ grill and the had a George Foreman grill which was not ideal. My husband is a chef and was looking forward to grilling a few nights. We were unable to do so. But the kitchen was very well equipped.
On 01/07/2019 by Undisclosed
Response on 1/11/2019
Hi Robin, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We're glad we were able to quickly resolve your issues after you called our 24/7 guest hotline. Please rest assured that we are investigating the grill at the property to ensure that our listings are 100% accurate. You were perfect guests, and we're looking froward to hearing from you again! - The TurnKey VR Team
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 12/29/2018 by Robin R
Wonderful, modern Summerland rental
This place is perfect. Great design, size/layout, view, kitchen and access to town. Best the i's to offer in Summerland. Very high end.
On 12/04/2018 by nancy S.
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 12/01/2018 by Nancy S
wonderful view of the sea
clean, classic, artful, cozy, beautiful view
On 10/09/2018 by Ronald A.
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 10/05/2018 by Ronald A
Fantastic! This is a wonderful oasis.
We are so appreciative of the space and wonderful location we found at the cottage. The rooms were clean, inviting and the instructions/directions were perfect and helpful. There is some highway and train noise, so be aware - but for us, it was all part of the ambiance. We miss this place already, and look forward to another visit.
On 08/10/2018 by Undisclosed
Response on 8/10/2018
Hello Debra, Thank you so much for your review and kind words about our property! We’re so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. You were perfect guests, and we look forward to next time! -The TurnKey VR Team
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 08/05/2018 by Debra L
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 07/10/2018 by Tim V
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 07/03/2018 by Jennifer G
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 06/30/2018 by Ry M
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 06/22/2018 by Kendall P
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 05/19/2018 by Dillon J
Housekeeping Review - Very Good
On 04/20/2018 by Zachary H
A (Beautiful) Lazy Hummingbird!
Our stay at The Lazy Hummingbird was wonderful, in every way. The unit was chic and comfortable, the kitchen so well-appointed, the location just great!
On 04/09/2018 by Caroline Y.
A sensational spot!
The photographs and description in the listing for this charming and beautiful listing were accurate, but no words or pictures could fully capture how lovely The Lazy Hummingbird was! The property was impeccably clean and so well-appointed -- there was not one thing we needed that we could not find in the well-stocked kitchen. We loved being in Summerland, which is full of wonderful little shops, and walking to the gorgeous beach. We felt so lucky that we found this little jewel of a spot, and we will be back!
On 03/31/2018 by Undisclosed
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 03/30/2018 by Kimberly A
The first stay here was with a friend for an event
and I knew I wanted to come back with my husband. This last stay was for his birthday and was close to perfect. The ONLY thing that was a bump was the internet and cable, it was in & out, so TV and internet buffered & was disrupted. Turnkey was great as they sent a tech guy out, but it didn't help.
On 03/17/2018 by Bettina B.
Response on 3/19/2018
Bettina, Thank you so much for your review and helpful feedback! We’re so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. Please let us assure you that we are following up regarding the cable and wifi. We apologize for any inconvenience. We can’t wait to have you stay with us again! -The TurnKey VR Team
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 03/13/2018 by Bettina B
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 11/23/2017 by Christine L
Overall a great stay.
We rented the place to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. It's a great location, peaceful. and very comfortable. My only issue is the bathroom floor was a bit dirty, there weren't any wash cloths, no hand soap at the sink, and the TV in the bedroom didn't work. The soaking tub was the a nice bonus.
On 09/19/2017 by Stacey P.
Response on 9/19/2017
Hi Stacey, Thank you so much for the review, and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our place. That being said, we do apologize if some inconveniences occurred and wish we had known during your stay so that we could have helped out. Here at TurnKey, it is our highest priority to make sure each guest has the best experience possible, and our 24/7 guest hotline is always available to help if anything comes up. Please be assured we are checking on everything you have mentioned and will make sure each issue is addressed. By the way, you were absolutely perfect guests, and we are hopeful to hear from you again! -The TurnKey VR Team
Housekeeping Review - Very Good
On 09/15/2017 by Stacey P
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 08/22/2017 by Laura H
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 08/18/2017 by Christopher S
Great time
We had a great time for the 2nd year in a row at the Lazy Hummingbird. We chose the Penthouse this year and enjoyed having more space in the bedroom and bathroom. We did miss having the long deck with chairs and BBQ but we still preferred the extra space upstairs, especially with the vaulted ceiling in the bedroom and the tub in the bathroom. Wifi went out one day but the rental company was quick to fix the problem and provided great service.
On 08/15/2017 by Undisclosed
Response on 8/16/2017
Michelle, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It is also great to know that you called our 24/7 support line here at TurnKey when something came up and that we were quickly able to resolve the issue. You were perfect guests, and we look forward to hearing from you again! -The TurnKey VR Team
Housekeeping Review - Good
On 08/08/2017 by Geoff N
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 07/24/2017 by Michelle F
Summerland Getaway
We had a wonderful stay at this prime location in Summerland. The unit was fully stocked with all items needed and we took advantage of the kitchen by making breakfast daily. The view was fantastic and I loved being able to have the windows open to the ocean air. The location of the property was perfect for my husband to take a long bike ride down the coast toward Ventura. We also liked the parking behind the unit which was so convenient. We love this area and we loved being able to see what an adorable little town Summerland is. Still more we want to see there so we hope to make it back very soon.
On 07/17/2017 by Frank M.
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 06/09/2017 by Hilary B
Housekeeping Review - Very Good
On 05/28/2017 by Shey C
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 04/06/2017 by Ryan K
Housekeeping Review - Very Good
On 03/24/2017 by Laurie L
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 03/18/2017 by Karen B
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 03/05/2017 by Jeremy H
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 02/16/2017 by Douglas M
Perfect place to relax and romantic getaway!
The Lazy Hummingbird is one of our favorite romantic hideouts! We had so much fun waking up to the beautiful sunrise view and taking a leisurely stroll down to the Red Kettle for a cup of coffee. After a day of exploring the beaches and Santa Barbara we arrived back home just in time for a soak in the tub with a sunset view and our own home cooking in the terrifically stocked kitchen. The decor is perfect for the space and feels like an upscale hideaway. We especially loved the comfortable bed and bedding! We highly recommend this beautiful property and throughly enjoyed everything it has to offer.
On 01/02/2017 by Undisclosed
Housekeeping Review - Very Good
On 12/29/2016 by Katie P
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 12/22/2016 by Geoff N
Wonderful getaway
We stayed in Summerland for a quick two night getaway. The Lazy Hummingbird was absolutely darling. Great decor, perfect view, just right for two. Sparkling clean. Loved the soaking tub with a palm tree ocean view. Lovely. Highly recommend.
On 11/24/2016 by Undisclosed
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 11/20/2016 by Shannon S
Housekeeping Review - Good
On 11/06/2016 by Bridget C
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 10/14/2016 by Ann F
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 09/23/2016 by Anthony D
Refreshing getaway
It only took 30 minutes for the fresh ocean air to clear the big city dirty air from our lungs. Arriving after dark only delayed the enjoyment of the great ocean view. The window was so clean (as was the entire facility) that I hit my head on the glass looking out, not realizing it was there. Didn't use the well equipped kitchen but would have served us nicely. Both me and my wife were super impressed with the comfort and decor of this enchanting getaway. Only negatives: the toilet is designed for miniature posteriors and the shower/tub is a little tricky. BUT watch that first step coming in the front door. Would we visit again? ABSOLUTELY.
On 09/10/2016 by Undisclosed
Response on 9/10/2016
Hi Perry, thank you for the compliments, and we love to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us! We could not agree more about the ocean view. You were an absolute pleasure to host and we appreciate you taking care of our home as if it were your own. We hope that you stay with us again! -The TurnKey VR Team
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 09/04/2016 by Perry R
The BEST place on our coastal trip!
This was the most beautiful, magical, wonderful place we stayed on our coastal trip last month. I cannot thank you enough and plan to stay there again and again when I can make it back to California. My only regret is that we didn't stay for a week! Renee England
On 08/29/2016 by Undisclosed
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 08/28/2016 by Miki E
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 08/10/2016 by Renee E
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 08/04/2016 by Ellyn L
Amazing Stay!
We absolutely loved our stay at the Lazy Hummingbird. From the ocean view to the modern kitchen...everything was superb!! We will definitely be staying here again.
On 08/04/2016 by Undisclosed
Awesome! Even better than the photos
This is one of those places that is actually better than the photos! The views are spectacular. Super clean, super cool and super relaxing. Enjoyed every minute. Had to learn how to use a French press tho.
On 06/07/2016 by Undisclosed
A Throne with a View!
Enchanting little "love Shack"!
Our second time staying at this prosperity and it's a favorite of ours!
On 11/05/2015 by Undisclosed
Response on 11/5/2015
Thanks Colleen! You were perfect guests and we look forward to hearing from you next time! -The TurnKey VR Team
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 11/02/2015 by Geoff N
Housekeeping Review - Very Good
On 10/19/2015 by Colleen Q
Housekeeping Review - Very Good
On 10/09/2015 by Bernie F
Top floor cozy stay
Over all we had a nice stay - was clean and functional.

A bit warm on the top floor during the day
On 09/30/2015 by Thomas C.
Response on 10/5/2015
HI Thomas, thanks for the kind words and helpful feedback! You were a perfect guest and we look forward to hearing from you again soon! -The TurnKey VR Team
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 09/29/2015 by Katie W
Housekeeping Review - Very Good
On 08/29/2015 by Katherine T
First visit to Summerland
Probably it is just that I am not used to it coming from London... I found the property too close to the freeway, and the constant white noise of cars was not my idea of a beach holiday... Otherwise the place and area were nice and convenient.
On 08/15/2015 by Undisclosed
Response on 8/25/2015
Hi Stephane, thanks for the review. We apologize about the highway noise. You were a great guest and we hope to hear from you next time! -The TurnKey VR Team
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 08/09/2015 by Eric F
Housekeeping Review - Very Good
On 08/06/2015 by Undisclosed
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 08/02/2015 by sandra s
Housekeeping Review - Very Good
On 07/27/2015 by Stephane S
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 07/09/2015 by Logan J
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 07/02/2015 by David H
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 06/28/2015 by Robin L
summerland stay
Nice, cute little place. Very clean, comfortable bed. A little hard to find, street address is not where the drivway and parking is located
On 06/15/2015 by Perry A.
Response on 6/29/2015
Hi Perry, thank you for staying with us and the feedback. We'll make sure our arrival instructions read more clear. We are glad you enjoyed the your vacation rental and hopefully we can see you again in the future ~ Turnkey VR
Housekeeping Review - Very Good
On 04/04/2015 by Nina P
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 03/16/2015 by Joseph S
Housekeeping Review - Very Good
On 02/18/2015 by Jackie G
Charming home
Loved everything about this place with the exception that I don't think it had air-conditioning and we were in a heat wave. Also the traffic noise from the highway down the hill was not expected. Great candles everywhere one and wonderful view from the patio to watch the sunset!
On 02/18/2015 by Undisclosed
Response on 3/1/2015
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. As is the case in many homes in this area along the coast, we rely on the ocean breeze through an open window to be our version of air conditioning. We are glad that you enjoyed the view and hope to have you back. -The TurnKey VR Team
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 02/13/2015 by Chris D
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 01/30/2015 by Dinko T
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 12/24/2014 by Alexis R
Housekeeping Review - Excellent
On 10/17/2014 by Jonathan B
Cozy condo with exquisite views of the Pacific Ocean
The condo is amazing. My wife and I came to celebrate our 8 th anniversary without the kids. This vacation rental had it all... Beautiful views and a cozy feel. Everything that you could possibly need is supplied with the exception of food. There are some basics like coffee and sugar and flour if you get bold and want to bake. The garden is beautiful and you are encouraged to partake in the crops.
On 09/25/2014 by Undisclosed
12 Days In Heaven
Sea glass Lookout was our favorite vacation spot. Ocean view from every window, darling accommodations , and the wonderful Shanda taking care of any problem quickly and efficiently. The 7 minute drive to enjoy Music in the Park in SB, or a little longer for Tuesday nite in Goleta was worth staying At Seaglass Lookout. Our own private crows nest. Hope to be back next year. The only regret was not meeting Beth and her 4 kids.
On 08/05/2014 by Judy & Allyn B.
Six nights in the lookout
Summerland is a lovely seaside village, and this cottage, though on the edge of town was not far from anything. We stayed 6 nights. Coffee on the balcony was a special time, watching the morning come on. The unit was clean when we arrived but cluttered with many nick-nacks, candles and curios on the tables and counters leaving little room for our things. Wi-fi system was intermitent, mostly not working, so beware. After a day or two the road noise from Hwy 101 mostly faded into the background. We enjoyed a little of the produce (tomatoes, lettuce) from the garden on site. Tw views were wonderful and enhanced with the fine binoculars.
On 07/29/2014 by Undisclosed
Seaglass Lookout
The property did look like the pictures, but on the pictures you can't see that it is shabby around the edges. Shame because it could be so beautiful. Carpets are stained, all plates in the kitchen chipped, the kitchen has an overall feel of not being quite clean. Under the sink is an old plastic paint container as use for a trash can, no liners provided. Lots of lovely candle holder that would be lovely to have lit on the balcony of an evening to enjoy that beautiful view, but, they were all burned completely down & nothing to light them with anyway. The closet doors do not close, but, the bedroom is very lovely just the stains on the carpet give it that unclean feeling. The views from the property are just beautiful & it would have been nicer to have had chairs that were a little more comfortable to sit & enjoy that view. The bathroom!! So outdated. The shower, if you had it on full the whole bathroom got a shower, if you had it on at a lower pressure it was ok, but, it then took forever to get shampoo out of your hair!! We did have a wonderful vacation, the location is lovely, apart from the noise from the freeway. Central for Montecito, Santa Barbara & Ventura, all beautiful places. As previously said it is shame that it has a feeling of neglect about it, could be perfectly charming with just a few changes. I did email the property management the day we arrived with a couple of question, but, got no reply I'm presuming the email didn't arrive. Would be helpful if there was a little more information in the property itself rather than the email link.
On 07/22/2014 by Jayne H.
Santa Barbara 2014
The location was nice. Overall it was nice. My only complaint is they provided whole beans for coffee but no grinder. I know its petty but for a coffee lover it was torturous. The customer service was professional so I suspect they will rectify this prank promptly. Besides there is a pleasant local coffee shop within two blocks.
On 07/03/2014 by Undisclosed
Lovely Place to Stay in Summerland
Beautiful locale and a great view! This lovely little one bedroom apartment is so well appointed. The bed ix extremely comfortable, and almost everything needed is on hand for a wonderful stay. (Curiously, whole coffee beans, but no grinder) There are even fresh vegetables in the little garden downstairs. We would definitely consider staying here again.
On 06/25/2014 by Gina G.
Such a gem!
Absolutely love coming to this location! I have been to this location three times and each time is more enjoyable than the previous time.
On 06/17/2014 by Pam T.
Relaxing getaway
We had a wonderful time staying in Seaglass Lookout. The apartment is cozy and perfect for two people. We enjoyed strolling in Summerland and then heading to Santa Barbara for dinner and shopping. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to a friend.
On 05/20/2014 by Michelle R.
the beautiful views but the location wasn't what we hoped for
The space is cute and cozy, with lots of personal touches, and the best part is the views. We loved waking up to the view of the ocean. From the pictures, we had imagined the place right on the beach, but it's on the other side of the PCH highway. Just a heads up for guests who are looking for complete peace and quiet, there's noise from the highway traffic and the train passing through periodically. To property management: the bath tub doesn't drain properly, the door knob from the bathroom to the bedroom locks shut and doesn't open, and windows need to be cleaned. Those things didn't at all affect the enjoyment of our stay, just letting you know they need attention.
On 04/25/2014 by Undisclosed